The Future of Dianna’s Writing Den

2013 has been an eventful year for me, and I’ve entered a new stage of my life. I’ve grown immensely as a writer and a person, and this blog must grow with me. This year I’ve actually committed to freelance writing, and I’ve made quite a bit of progress on the Ten Commandments ebook I’ll release when I reach 400 followers. I’m also going to technically graduate high school, but I’ll talk more about that in another post.

Over the next couple of months, this blog will enter a new stage of its life, too. It’s going to become a more professional showcase of my work, but it’s also going to become more community focused. By the end of the year I hope to release an ebook designed to help writers finish their first draft.

To accomplish all of this, I’m going to switch to a self hosted site. I will also be renaming this blog and purchasing a new domain name. I’d like this domain name to be more community focused, with regular contributors, because this blog isn’t just about me. It’s about you guys, too.

I will be keeping this domain name for about a year, and all posts from the new blog will be cross posted here, so you’ll have plenty of time to follow me in making the switch. I will probably make a new schedule, though I haven’t set that in stone yet.

Over the next week I’ll be hammering out the exact details of these changes, but before I finalize everything, I’d like to know what you think. What do you think would make a good name for the new version of this blog? What would you like to see happen in the next stage of this blog?

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on May 31, 2013, in Blog Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi Dianna, I’m amazed at your accomplishments and ambitious goals at such a young age. I would love to read what you are working on in relation to writers finishing their first draft. I have trouble focusing on longer works, start to finish. I have several short stories and seem to be better at nonfiction when it comes to publication. As to what we might like to read in your new blog, I think the word that hits home for all of us (and obviously it’s dear to your heart) is ‘encouragement’. We all need something to get us to take the next step, even if it’s baby steps. Being a writer is hard. I think anything you love to do is hard to keep momentum in this world of expectations, monetary ones being the hardest. I don’t know if that helps (or if I’m just rambling) but it’s what I think of when I think of your blog, and you. Encouragement. As to a name—I’d have to think on that one a while. Be well, be brave. Janet

  2. Hi Janet,

    Fiction is the hardest thing to publish and get paid for, and I personally haven’t made any sales either. The important thing is that I keep finishing stories, editing and submitting. One focus of mine this summer will be to edit all my unedited short stories and get them out on the market. With skill and persistence, eventually publication will be found.

    Thanks for all your thoughts, you’ve already inspired a couple posts. As for names, I’ll be putting up options next week for you to choose your favourite, or you can suggest a new one then. I’m always happy to have your feedback.

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    ~Dianna

  1. Pingback: Summer Schedule and Vote on a New Blog Name | diannaswritingden

Leave a Reply

