Disturbances in Your Writing

Last Friday I asked you guys three questions, and one of them was about what you struggle with most in your writing. Several of you said that your biggest challenge is actually finishing projects, so I’ve decided to tackle this problem. Today I’ve compiled a master list of all the things that have ever prevented me from finishing a writing project, and over the next few weeks I’m going to discuss in detail how to overcome these obstacles, dealing with one or two obstacles per week.

If you have some obstacles that aren’t on the list, feel free to mention them in the comments and I’ll see if I can help you with those, too.

But first, take a look and see if your biggest obstacle made my list:

Interrupting family.

Ringing phones/messenger programs.

The internet.

School/work.

Writer’s block.

Urge to jump to a new project.

Illness/repetitive strain injury.

These are all the things that have ever slowed me down. When you’re not used to them and you’re just getting started, it’s easy to let these things stop you from finishing a project. But with the right strategies you can overcome all of these obstacles so they barely even slow you down. I’ll be delving into those strategies in detail over the next few weeks, and if you implement the strategies I suggest I guarantee you’ll have a long-term(think novel) project finished within the next two months.

Is there anything stopping you from finishing your projects that didn’t make the list? Post it in the comments below and I’ll make sure to tackle it in the coming weeks.

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on February 25, 2013, in Goal setting, Inspirational, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I work a bunch of different jobs and it’s definitely a hindrance to my writing. I feel guilty if I spend time writing because there’s usually something else I need to be doing.

    • Brianna,

      As a student, street promoter and intern I feel your pain. In fact, that’s what I’m going to talk about next week–including why you shouldn’t feel guilty about spending time writing.

      Thanks for stopping by,
      ~Dianna

      • Looking forward to it. I hate that I feel guilty because I enjoy it so much, but there’s just so much going on.

  2. I look forward to hearing your suggestions. I could use an energy boost in that direction!

  1. Pingback: Eliminating Guilt | diannaswritingden

  2. Pingback: Dealing with Family Interruptions | diannaswritingden

  3. Pingback: Staying Focused | diannaswritingden

  4. Pingback: Making The Sacrifice | diannaswritingden

  5. Pingback: Final Thoughts on Disturbances in your Writing | diannaswritingden

Leave a Reply

