Was it Me or Technology?

Hi guys,

You might have noticed that I didn’t write any posts this week. This is true–I had a ridiculously busy week, and I spent very little time at home. I’m even three days behind on email. But, foreseeing that I would be extremely busy this week–lately I’ve had little time to write during the week–I wrote some posts last week that I planned to publish on Monday and Wednesday.

One of them stayed in my system, ready to go but not scheduled. The other didn’t even make it into the system.

I’d like to remain optimistic and say that WordPress simply failed to register it when I scheduled the post, but it’s more realistic that I forgot to schedule it. To be honest, I’ve spent so little time at my computer this week that I didn’t notice the failure of my post to go live until just now.

Let me start by saying that I’m deeply sorry guys. I have been extremely busy this week and last week, but that isn’t an excuse. I made most of those plans myself. The only thing I have no control over is the hours I spend at school–which should leave me enough time to post regularly and work on my other projects. The rest of the time I’m visiting friends or going to events which I don’t have to say yes to.

This week is a prime example of why I need more discipline in my life and I need to follow a schedule. I’m an adult now and I need to move out by the end of this year. It’s hard, and it means cutting back my social life even more than I already have, and that’s a painful decision. But I have to do it.

I also have to cut back on my commitments. I’m committed to too many things right now. There are so many projects I want to start, so many things I want to do. But I can’t do them all at once, and right now my focus needs to be on my career. I need to start asking myself the hard questions about everything I do: what does this do for my career in the long run? In the short term? Will this project make me money? Will it help me support myself by the time this year is over? And I need to focus on the projects that will help me become self-sufficient by the end of the year.

What does this mean for Dianna’s Writing Den? I’m not sure yet. For now I am going to stick with my current posting schedule and cull my social visits. But there might soon come a time when I cut back my blog posts to two per week, because so far, this blog isn’t my best money maker. I love running this blog, I love the connections I’ve made and the community I’ve created, but I can’t let blogging come at the detriment to my other writing projects.

So here’s the plan. For the next month I’m going to continue with my regular posting schedule and cut back on my social visits, and I’m going to see if this gives me enough time to do the work required to lay a foundation for my career. This time next month–March 15th, also a Friday–I am going to assess my progress and make a final decision on my blogging schedule. If I find that blogging is doing me more harm than good by eating up all my time for other projects, I will cut back on the number of posts I write each week. If I find that blogging isn’t damaging my time for other work, I’ll continue with this schedule.

All I know today is that it’s time to create a big change in my life. I hope you’ll stick with me on this journey and I want you to know that no matter what, I won’t abandon this blog completely. I love it too much and I’m too committed to you guys. I just need to make sure that my commitment to helping you become better writers doesn’t damage my own writing career.

Thank you for reading and being part of the community I’ve worked so hard to create.

~Dianna

Have you committed yourself to too many projects? Do you need to renew your commitment to your writing career? And how would you feel if I cut back from three to two posts per week?

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on February 15, 2013, in Blog Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am eternally over committed. I actually have a bit of a breather today and I’m not quite sure what to do with myself.

Leave a Reply

