Picture Prompts!

A handful of you might be aware that I’ve wanted a camera for a long, long time. I wanted the camera because photos make blog posts more attractive and articles about my city will more easily sell with photographs.

Last year for Christmas I was given the money for a camera. Unfortunately, it was in a check, and I managed to lose the check on my way to the bank to cash it. So I’ve spent the last year without the camera I was supposed to have, becoming increasingly irritated with my various friends and relatives who have been picking up new ones.

Then something amazing happened. I got a camera. It isn’t the best camera in the world. It’s only 10 megapixels and the shutter speed is nothing special. But it’s a camera, and I’m thrilled to finally be able to take pictures of all the beautiful things I see.

It wasn’t exactly a Christmas present, but it certainly felt like one. And it’s the best present I got this year.

So, in order to celebrate having a camera and to make sure I go out regularly and take pictures, I’ve decided to start doing weekly picture prompts. I’ve always enjoyed making use of picture prompts and I hope you’ll enjoy them as well.

Without further ado, here’s your first picture prompt of the year:

100_2445
Winter Wonderland

Please post the first sentence of your response in the comments.

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on January 11, 2013, in Prompts, Short Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Brianna Soloski

    My feet crunched through the snow as I followed my boyfriend down the path behind his house.

    • Brianna,

      Great sentence, might just be me but it feels a little ominous. Thanks for the thought and welcome to Dianna’s Writing Den. I hope you’ll stick around.

      ~Dianna

      • Funny you should say that. I had the same feeling. I might have to play around with that a little bit.

Leave a Reply

