Market Listing June 22nd

I finished school two days ago and my brain was too dead to think up a theme for today’s listing, but I do have three markets for you which accept fiction AND non-fiction, so I guess that’s a theme of sorts.

And, without further ado:

42 Magazine Any fan of Douglas Adams will enjoy the title of this magazine, and maybe even the rest of it, too. What’s cool about this magazine is that they’ll accept stories written in any genre, of any length–though I’m sure they’re less likely to take stories beyond 10K–and from anyone who can write well. They also take “Extras”, which can be anything from political essays to how to articles to cartoons to video games sent on CDs to their subscribers. They’ll pay $20 for anything you can dream up–and do well.

AE Sci Fi–The Canadian Fiction Review is looking for short stories between 500 and 3000 words in length, and they’ll pay you six cents per word, which is one cent above what the SFWA deems a ‘professional market’. They also accept non-fiction, primarily interviews and profiles of important science fiction authors, preferably Canadian ones. They also have something called capsule reviews, which they pay $7 for. Articles get $20, and an interview will earn you $30–but remember to query first, because they don’t take unsolicited non-fiction.

Black Warrior Review is looking for poems, short stories of under 7000 words, and non-fiction of under 7500 words. They also accept artwork and comics, though it seems they take fewer of those. Being published in Black Warrior Review nets you a one-year subscription to the magazine and an unspecified amount of money.

Remember that while I tell you a bit more about the magazines than their names–what they pay, what their word count limits are, what genres they accept–it’s still important to read through all the guidelines on their page and make sure you understand it. The number one reason why stories are rejected is because the author didn’t follow the guidelines in an obvious way. Each editor wants you to format your story a little differently from the next–don’t hurt your chances of publication by not paying attention.

When was the last time you submitted work? Where did you submit it to?

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on June 22, 2012, in Markets, Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi, there:

    Congratulations on finishing school yr. Is that it?? So excited for you! I check in regularly to read your blog and haven’t posted. Know that I’m always rooting for you and taking your advice and paying attetion. 😀

    Was thinking of you today … thought of an interesting “topic” for you. That is … professional writer “health and safety”. Employees in – say – a production line have all kinds of people making sure they are safe, well and injury free. I suspect that self-employed writers don’t have the same kind of safety risks – but still – things like ergonomics, breaks, repeatative strain, eye strain etc are issues.

    In any event, I hope you have an awesome summer. And remember – jes’ because I’m not commenting don’t mean I’m not checking in… 😀

    cheers!
    red

    PS: spending summer writing a fanfic and oddly have you to blame for part of it … 😀 … if it weren’t for you and your prompts and whatnot, I would not still be writing in the “off season”. 😀

  2. Hi RP,

    Glad to know you’re still with me. I was starting to wonder how you’ve been doing.

    I’ve been contemplating the same topic for a while now, but with all the pain from my bad wrist, it’s been kind of depressing. Once I’m on the other side of all the tests and treatment I’ll be all right–apparently I’m supposed to get some call about a hand clinic, though I’m starting to disbelieve it.

    I’ll have a lovely summer and I hope you will too–and I hope you’ll keep in touch throughout.

    Always glad to have you and to know that I’ve inspired someone to write more 🙂

    ~Dianna

Leave a Reply

