Little Knitted Things


I’ve spent most of my weekend doing homework and quite a few hours trying to figure out what to write for my blog. Some days the posts just come to me and I make notes for five or ten posts and write two or three drafts. Other days I struggle just to get one idea down on the page.

Of course the answer was right in front of me–in the form of a little red-headed knitted doll. Her name is Jeanie Stuart, and she’s one of the main characters in my friend Karen’s novel, Angel of Death(which you can look at here). She’s an Irish gal with quite the attitude, one of my favourite characters in Angel of Death–or in any book, really.

Karen knitted up several dolls of not just Jeanie but two of her other main characters as well in order to promote her new novel, a sequel entitled Shadow of Death. I ran into her at last year’s Word on the Street festival and told her how much I loved the little dolls. She told me people had been coming up to her all day asking about them. I admired them for some time, but, not having any money, I had to move on.

That same day I went to the Pagan Pride Day celebration here in Toronto, where I participated in the Bardic. A Bardic is basically a talent competition. It is open to storytellers, poetry readers, singers, dancers and musicians of all kinds. The number and kinds of both prizes and contestants vary from year to year, but the feel is always the same and it’s a fun challenge.

One of last year’s prizes was a little knitted doll donated by Karen, an active member of the Pagan community and leader of the Pagan Pub Moot, the oldest gathering of its kind in Canada. I won third place and ended up taking her home, bringing her to sit on my desk for future inspiration.

We can all learn three lessons from this little doll.

1. Everything can be a marketing tool. Can you sew? Knit? Draw? Do you know how to work with clay? You’d be surprised how helpful those other creative endeavours can be when trying to market your novels. You can make little replicas of your characters, paint landscapes from your novel, create live replicas of jewellery or vases in your book. Not only will these draw extra attention to you at book festivals, but you can sell them to your fans and even random people who enjoy the aesthetic feel of what you’ve created, creating an extra stream of income for yourself.

Jeanie cost $15 at Word on the Street, and I know for a fact that Karen managed to sell most of her knitted dolls. With how cute they are, and the number of hours she spent making them, I think they’re worth the price.

2. Good things come to those who wait. I probably could have convinced my boyfriend–or one of my friends wandering around the festival–to buy me one of Karen’s little knitted things, but instead I decided just to go to the Pagan Pride Day celebration. If I’d convinced someone to get me one as a present, or if I’d had money and decided to buy it for myself, it wouldn’t have been special when I won the doll. I’d already have one, so it would be cool, but it wouldn’t be awesome.

Instead, I went on about my day and managed to stumble upon a little knitted thing anyway–an exciting way to end my day.

3. Always perform your work when given the opportunity. If you’re going to an event where you know there will be an open mike at some point, bring a short piece of your work with you–even an inspiring blog post can work. If it’s a competition, spend an hour practising your piece aloud. Actually, it might be helpful to do that anyway. You want to have a feel for how the piece sounds going in. Knowing how the piece sounds will help calm your nerves.

Performing your work out loud gives you the opportunity to make connections and to really see people’s reactions to your work. The only way to really understand how awesome it is when people clap for work you’ve taken the time to write and then read to them is to live through the experience.

Perhaps the most important lesson that can be learned from this little knitted thing is this: there’s a lesson in everything around us, if we’ll only take the time to look.

Where have you found your most unexpected life lessons?

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on April 16, 2012, in Inspirational, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

