Markets Looking for Weird Fiction

Today’s publications are all a little bit off the beaten track. They’re looking for weird stories–stories that just don’t fit anywhere else. One of them is even looking for pieces of stories. For those of us who struggle to work within the normal confines of fiction–length, story arch, those who refuse to write in plain language–these are markets to remember.

It can be quite hard to find a home for our work sometimes. When stories get past a certain length it becomes harder to find markets for them. When stories are half prose, half poem, it becomes harder to find a market for them. I’ve been known to sit for hours looking for a good market to submit to. Other times, markets have just fallen into my lap.

I hope these markets will help you get some of your weirder stories out into the public eye.

Jabberwocky Magazine–This magazine is looking for your mythpunk–something I’ve never heard of before but which you can find out more about here–and your purple prose. If you like to play around with pretty words, this is the magazine for you. They pay $0.01/word for fiction and $10.00 per poem.

Miscellanea–This is one of the cooler projects I’ve encountered recently. Inspired by concepts such as the library in the Unseen University of Pratchett’s world, Miscellanea hopes to be a library of books from all dimensions. They want snippets of no more than 300 words of any sort–memoirs, fiction, poetry, even dedication. The stories should be alluring and should make people want to read more. Think of each story as being a random page in a random book. They pay $10.00/story.

Mad Scientist Journal–I just found this magazine and I love the concept. They’re looking for “scientific” papers written by mad scientists–or at least fiction that resembles such papers. They’ll accept pretty much every genre, so long as it fits their qualifications. Some things they might be interested in are fictional newspaper articles, first-person accounts of mad scientists or witnesses of strange scientific experiments. Upon acceptance, they’d also like you to write a fictional author bio to keep with the feel of a “scientific journal”. They’re currently a token paying market–$10/short story–but they sound like a lot of fun to write for and work with.

Of course these aren’t the only places looking for strange fiction. There are magazines which expect you to work in a world that they’ve created, other magazines which want Lovecraftian fiction, and still others which specifically ask for weird fiction in the guidelines. On top of that, new markets are coming out all the time, so if you’ve written something you can’t find a market for now, stash it on your computer and maybe one will appear later.

Happy hunting!

What is the weirdest piece of fiction you’ve ever written?

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on March 23, 2012, in Markets, Short Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Love these! Thanks for highlighting some good ones. I have a hard time finding appropriate markets for the content of a lot of my stories. Any recommendations for a market interested in dark humor and wouldn’t mind if there’s a feline massacre involved? I’ve been shopping this story forever and cat-lovers keep getting offended. Not that I encourage animal abuse in real life or that I don’t love cats. I’m very fond of my kitten, Gizmo. Fiction writers just can’t help the bizarre things they’re inspired to write!

    • Hi Hannah,

      Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you found this post useful. Off the top of my head I can’t think of any markets like what you’re looking for, but if I find some I’ll make sure to mention them next time I do one of these posts. Between now and then, I sincerely suggest you look up ‘Planet of the Cats’ on Youtube.

      ~Dianna

  2. I just stumbled across this post. Thank you for the Miscellanea mention!

  3. Hi, Ghostwoods Books has some calls up for weird fiction anthologies. Their listing is here: http://www.gwdbooks.com/calls-for-submissions.html

Leave a Reply

