Market Listing January 13th

I don’t know about you, but this year I’m planning on making several submissions and hoping for at least a couple of publications. Most of the markets I’ll be listing are markets that I’m thinking about submitting to. I will only be listing paying markets, as I will only be submitting to paying markets this year. For now all of the markets I’ll be listing are for speculative fiction. Almost all of the markets I’ll be posting accept electronic submissions, but don’t forget to read the guidelines thoroughly before you submit.

These markets accept longer short stories, for the most part under 10, 000. I’m hoping to find a home for the short story I just wrote, and maybe you will too after reading this list.

Abysss&Apex Magazine of Speculative Fiction Abyss&Apex accepts stories of up to 10, 000 words. They run on a quarterly schedule and have set fiction reading periods. The next one is in February. Payment is five cents per word up to 1, 500, with a flat payment of $75.00 for longer works.

Lightspeed Magazine Originally just a science fiction magazine, Lightspeed recently merged with its sister magazine to start accepting fantasy submissions. They are not accepting fantasy submissions until further notice. Paying five cents per word and accepting stories up to 7500 words long, this is a market to watch.

Strange Horizons This magazine is looking for speculative fiction stories of up to 9, 000 words. They do prefer shorter stories of under 5, 000 words, but it’s perfectly fine to submit a story between 5, 000 words and 9, 000 words. Strange Horizons pays its writers 0.07 cents per word. They are currently not open to fiction submissions, but they will re-open for fiction submissions on February first.

I hope that you’ll submit your fairly long short story to at least one of these markets. If you manage to find a home for one of your stories thanks to a market I sent you, let me know. I’d love to hear your success stories. If you’re too shy to comment, shoot me an email at diannalgunn@gmail.com .

Do you plan to submit more short fiction this year than you did last year?

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Markets, Short Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

