Market Listings December 16th

I decided to start with market listings instead of a prompt because I figure there’s a pretty good chance you’ve got a short story sitting around somewhere that really should be sent out–or back out. Or maybe you’ve got a story that just needs one last good polish. Or maybe you’ve just written a story and you haven’t started editing it yet. The point is, you probably already have a story lying around, and I’m hoping you’ll consider sending it to one of these markets.

The First Line Short Fiction Magazine This market is good for those of you who don’t have a story. The First Line gives you the first line of your story and asks you to write the rest. If you write something particularly awesome, they’ll publish it and you’ll get paid. The first lines for 2012 stories are already up, so get to work making something. They pay $30 for short stories and $20 for non-fiction. They prefer short stories between 300 and 3000 words.

The Colored Lens The Coloured Lens will take speculative short fiction of up to 10, 000 words and even serialized novels up to 20, 000 words, but you have to query for the latter. They pay $20 per short story, and for novellas they pay $20 for the first 10, 000 words and $1 for every thousand words after that.

Ideomancer Ideomancer is looking for speculative short fiction up to 7, 000 words, and they will pay you 0.03 cents per word to a maximum of $40. They also publish poetry, and they pay a flat rate of $6 per poem.

These markets don’t pay at the professional level of five cents per word, but quite frankly, very few markets actually pay their authors that much anyway. If you’re thinking of submitting to one of these markets but you’re afraid, that’s okay. Submitting a short story for the first time is scary. But you can do it, and believe you me, you’ll feel much more like a writer after you do.

If you manage to get published at one of these magazines please let me know. I’d love to hear your success stories, and hopefully someday soon I can share one of my own.

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on December 16, 2011, in Markets, Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi,

    this is an awesome idea! I wish I could make good use of it (wrong country). But I’m starting to look for literary magazines that might take my short stories and wanted to tell you how much I’d appreciate a marketing guide such as you provide here.

    I’m sure others will find it very useful!

  2. Hi Melange,

    I’m glad you like this idea. Most of the magazines I’ve chosen can be submitted to from anywhere in the world because they take electronic submissions–with no income, I’m stingy on paper and postage.

    What country do you live in? I can look some things up for you and I already know of a few Australian ones.

    Don’t forget to check out Duotrope’s Digest too. If I were less lazy, I would give you a link.

    Thanks for stopping by,
    ~Dianna

  3. Well, do you also know some that accept entries in German? Most of the stuff I’m writing nowadays is written in my native language. I live in Austria. 🙂

    Thanks though. I’ll look up Duotrope’s Digest too.

  4. Melange,

    That I don’t know, but if I stumble upon any while travelling the interwebs, I’ll be sure to post them.

    German’s an awesome language. I only know a handful of words but I really love German metal…

    Anyway. I hope you find something on Duotrope’s Digest and if I see anything, I’ll let you know.

    Happy holidays,
    ~Dianna

Leave a Reply

