What’s New at Dianna’s Writing Den

You might have noticed the new layout. I’ve chosen a lighter colour scheme and a theme that will allow me to further customize my blog. And this is just the beginning of the upcoming changes here at Dianna’s Writing Den.

The first thing is that I’m bringing back my series of author interviews, this time focusing mainly on Musa authors. I have enough interviews to last me well into January and even a couple guest posts to share with you, and I’m fairly confident I will be able to extend the series beyond that. These interviews will go up on Wednesday.

I’ve also decided to re-introduce prompts to the blog, but this time it will be every two weeks. Every other week I will post a list of 3-5 paying short fiction markets. One of my goals for next year is to write and submit more short fiction, and these posts will serve the purpose of keeping markets in my mind. I hope you’ll join me in the quest to write and submit more short stories.

I’m still finishing my novel and we’ve still got a few weeks before the new year begins, but I have a feeling it’s going to be a great year for this blog. I plan to open the new year with a series of posts about editing a novel, and then we’re going to get into the messy business of creating a world for a new novel. And of course, I will be running the Dear Diary Workshop again, hopefully this time with some improvements.

Over the next couple of weeks we’re going to talk about finishing that darn novel and re-evaluating your writing goals for the new year.

I hope you’re as excited for 2012 as I am, and I hope that you’ll continue along with me on my journey.

What are some of your plans for the new year?

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on December 9, 2011, in Blog Stuff, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Greetings!

    I like the black on white framwork. It’s clean and readable. Looks great!

    Lets see … goals for 2012. ScriptFrenzy. Nano. I want to finish the novel I started in Nano but didn’t. Would be fun to edit something – maybe this last unfinished nano. I’d also like to put Elgin into a novel.

    Cheers!
    RP

  2. I look forward to reading your blog posts! What a cool plan. I look forward to my book being published on January 6th. I’m so excited. I’m going to have to do a lot of promotion which is new to me but I can’t wait!

    • Hi Patricia,

      Thanks. I bet you are excited. I probably won’t sleep for a week before my first book comes out. It doesn’t help that I’m bad at sleeping to begin with, but with all of that excitement…

      Marketing is difficult. Part of the reason why I’ve been blogging for so long is because I’m hoping that the other writers who enjoy my blog will someday buy my books. It’s not really the driving force–for me it’s more about the writing practice and the friendships I’m making–but it is one of the factors.

      I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it. Think you’re going to write another book next year?

      Thanks for stopping by,
      ~Dianna

  3. Hi RP,

    I’m glad you like it. I feel like it’s more representative of where I am in my writing life.

    I might actually try to do script frenzy this year too. There’s a script that’s been percolating in my mind for a while, so we’ll see if I actually write the darn thing up.

    And I’d totally love to read a novel with Elgin in it. Even if you never let anyone else read it. I really do like that guy.

    Thanks for stopping by,
    ~Dianna

Leave a Reply

