The Final Days

Today, my friends, is October twenty-seventh. Do you know what that means? It means Nanowrimo is pretty much standing on top of us. Don’t be afraid, it won’t hurt. Well, it won’t cripple you. Nanowrimo is not liable for any head, back or wrist injuries caused by writer’s block, the insane goal, or any of its participants. Neither am I just because I convinced you to do it. But, with any luck and a little help from me, you won’t have so many difficulties you end up bashing your head off of the wall.

During these final days before Nanowrimo, enjoy your freedom. Don’t shake in your boots fearing what is to come. 50, 000 words (or more) in a month is a noble goal. It is also perfectly achievable for the majority of people. Make sure you have a solid idea what your plot is about and who your characters are, but don’t over plan or spend all your time fussing over your outline. This is Nanowrimo. It’s not about writing the perfect novel. It’s about writing a messy but full-length first draft, which you may or may not choose to edit later. It’s about being able to say ‘I wrote a book once’, even if you never do it again. It’s about having fun. If it doesn’t end up working well for you, you can plan more next year.

Instead, make sure to spend the next few days–or as much of them as you can–doing the other things that you enjoy. If you know you have a big project of some sort due next month for work or school, do some extra work on it now. The idea is to get these things out of the way now so that you don’t feel the need for them as much during the next month. It’ll help, trust me. Go to a Halloween party. Have fun. Next month is going to be a long month full of trials, tribulations and hopefully victory dances. Be prepared.

This November, I will be posting pep talks every Monday, a dare every Wednesday, and some sort of tip/update/excerpt on Friday. I’ll be just as exhausted as the rest of you, but I’ll be loving it. After all, Nanowrimo to me is the most wonderful time of the year.

What will you be doing in the final days before Nanowrimo?

If you’ve found this useful, please do everyone a favour and sponsor me. Your donation goes to Nanowrimo and all that is awesome and the Office of Letters and Light. So do writers everywhere a favour and sponsor me.

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on October 27, 2011, in Nanowrimo, Novels, Workshops, Writing, Writing, Writing: The Process and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m still trying to find a plot! I will be spending the rest of today on the adoptions threads! I’m sure by the time that midnight rolls around I’ll be sorted though 🙂 looking forward to your dares!

    Jessica P xo
    My Latest Blog Post: The Search for a Plot (a NaNoWriMo conundrum)

    • Hi Jessica,

      I’m sure you’ll be able to find one. The adoptions threads are full of awesome, and sometimes the plots you see inspire you with completely different plots. Just wandering around the rest of the forums is fun too and plenty inspirational. I’m looking forward to my dares, too, as I have no idea what any of them will be yet.

      Thanks for stopping by,
      ~Dianna

Leave a Reply

