Dear Diary Entry

Today I would like to share with you one of my own Dear Diary Entries, which I hope you will enjoy. My Dear Diary Project is written by Riana, the main character of Moonshadow’s Guardian. At this time she called herself Naomi, and she lived at Home, the gloomy red caverns where demons are sent when they hit puberty and gain access to their powers. She’s just begun swordplay lessons.

Enjoy.

Day Nineteen
Today began with a long run all around the town. I’m slowly getting used to the atmosphere of darkness, what with almost all the stone being black and the gargoyles hanging onto the corners of every building, and the sick, twisted plants growing in the narrow spaces between houses. I still don’t like it, but I’m getting used to it now. The sights don’t horrify me the way they did when I first arrived. Even though it’s only been a couple of months, I feel like I’ve aged a hundred years—I was just a scared little girl when I got here, but now I’m becoming a woman.
A woman who feels like she is always being watched. I swear sometimes I see yellow orbs like eyeballs lurking in the shadows. Sometimes when I’m going to sleep I hear movements outside the door, but if ever I go to check, there is nobody there. The door is thick and wooden and protected by powerful spells—all the doors here are, to keep demons from being killed in the middle of the night. We like to die in a proper fight, around here. But I suspect that the people who are watching me will never actually seek a physical confrontation. If I am to be punished by them, it will be in the official way, and I’ll never get a chance to truly fight for myself. People aren’t really given trials around here. A ‘trial’ around here is really the Family deciding how to punish people they don’t like.

Then again, in the Magi Plains, people don’t usually get trials either. They just get their limbs or titles removed. Sometimes they get banished to some far away place. If it’s somebody really important, or if the crime was really drastic, they might get a trial. The four families don’t like to kill innocents, so if it’s a crime that people are usually executed for, they like to enforce trials. Of course, the judges are all cousins of one of the four families and they usually rule against the poorer party, but at least it’s some kind of trial.

I suppose I shouldn’t be too worried about it. I’m not Merrique’s lover right now, and they won’t actively try to harm me until I am. For now I just need to focus on my training—several hours of repetitive motions, trying to make each one faster than the last one. I’ll fight those battles when I have to.

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on September 21, 2011, in Journalling, Short Fiction, Workshops, Writing, Writing: The Process and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey, I enjoyed reading your entry! The stream of consciousness style came across very well. Content-wise it reminds me of the His Dark Materials series, although I’m sure it’s vastly different… the atmosphere is kind of similar though. And Merrique is a beautiful name.

    Thanks for posting! Keep up the good work!

    • Hi Melange,

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I’ve never read the His Dark Material series, though it’s highly recommended. Maybe someday after I’ve read all the books my boyfriend bought me for Christmas 😉

      The Dear Diary Project I’ve been writing has just been her meeting Merrique and starting her training, so it may or may not resemble the series. The actual novel that I’m working on has almost nothing to do with anything in the Dear Diary Project, since it’s thousands of years later and in the human plain. But Naomi/Riana is the main character of the book, so this background work is important. I’m hoping that having worked with her in multiple timeframes will help me make her sound a bit older as well.

      Thanks,
      ~Dianna

Leave a Reply

