Now Hear This! Blogging Position

This summer I decided that I really wanted to hunker down and focus on my writing. For the last three or four summers, I’ve always told myself I’d get a lot done with all my spare time, but I didn’t actually get all that stuff done. I spent most of my time out and about with friends, or buried deep in somebody else’s book. Even when I stayed home, I spent most of my time reading and researching on the internet.

This summer was different. I got a brand new computer at the start of the summer, and I managed to write an entire new draft of Moonshadow’s Guardian. I participated in an online summer writing group called the Writer’s Circuit. I’ve been going to acting for camera workshops, where they’re teaching me how to act and soon we’re going to start working on a short movie. I’ve written two short stories and edited one of them. I’ve edited a short story that I wrote a long, long time ago twice.

I got a lot of work done this summer. And it’s paid off. Literally. Paid.

How so, you ask? Well, when I was just finishing up with the Writer’s Circuit, I got an email saying that Now Hear This, the parent company–a Canadian company promoting literacy–was looking for new youth bloggers. They wanted youth to come and offer writing tips, book reviews, and to talk about local literacy events. And they were offering payment.

I jumped on the chance and sent an email back right away, with two ideas for blog posts: a book review and a post about online writing communities. I’ve been corresponding with the people in charge, and I wrote up and sent in my first blog post. The first piece of writing I will ever receive payment for. And sometime soon, a cheque is going to come for me in the mail. The first cheque I’ve ever received, since I’ve never had a real job. I’m ecstatic. Heck, I’m more than ecstatic. I’m bouncing off the walls. Really, really quickly.

So if you want to check it out, today I’m on the Now Hear This blog with a book review of Mad Kestrel by Misty Massey:
http://www.nowhearthis.ca/blog/book_review_mad_kestrel_misty_massey

Thanks for reading, guys. Your support’s made all the difference in this journey.

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on September 5, 2011, in Inspirational, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. HIPPEE ! YAY! CONGRATULATIONS! WELL DONE! SUPER DUPER!!

    That’s completely and totally awesome news!!!

    You rock. 🙂

    Cheers!
    RP

  2. Conga Rats!

    Just try not to cause too much damage to the walls as you bounce off of them.

  3. CONGRATS!! 😀

    great review, i may have to check out that book. can’t wait for your next paid blog post too 🙂

  4. Im so happy for you! Wow, Im doing a little bouncing myself, its so exciting!

  5. Thanks for the congrats everyone 🙂

    This is a really exciting development for me–it’s the real beginning of what will hopefully be a long, joyous writing career. Thank you all for being here with me through this journey. I couldn’t have done it without you guys here cheering me on.

Leave a Reply

