Author Interview: Denyse Bridger


Today I am proud to introduce multi-house author Denyse Bridger. This interview was done on the 19th of February. Denyse is the author of several works, including Beyond the Gateways.

1. Can you tell us a bit about your most recent book?

It’s not easy to pick one specific title – I had four books released last weekend, so it was one of those amazing things that comes at you out of the blue and overwhelms you! The variety of stories in the recent releases is typical of how I work – one is a collection of epic and dark fantasy stories – stuff that is like Lord of the Rings, and a couple of tales that are dark vampire fantasy. I also have a Historical novella with a touch of the vampire, too – it’s set in Pompeii just before Vesuvius blew. My big departure for style is the erotic title Stranded! since it’s a ménage tale, and I don’t usually go in that direction with my romance. I also contributed to a Valentine Anthology in which the first collaborative story written by me and my partner in Rome was showcased, it was called “A Sweet Seduction” and was about chocolate! So, really, between XoXo Publishing™ and New Dawning International Book Fair, it was quite a wild weekend.

2. When and how did you decide to become a writer?

I don’t think it was ever a conscious choice, it was simply something I always did. For as long as I can remember I’ve written in one form or another. I spent 20 years honing my story-telling by writing fan fictions for my favourite television shows. Won awards with that, then I turned to creating my own worlds and I’ve never looked back; that was in 2004, and in the past 7 years I’ve seen several dozen books released, most of which are still available, or soon will be again!

3. Did you specifically choose to work with Canadian publishers, or is that just how it worked out?

With my fantasy novel, As Fate Decrees, I made a conscious choice to select a Canadian publisher. It was a long wait as EDGE underwent some changes, but given the quality of the production, the attention to details, and the wonderful support of all of the EDGE team, I do think I made the right choice.

4. You write both erotic and non-erotic books. Which do you find more interesting to write?

In terms of more interesting, I’d have to say the non-erotic simply because I love to write fantasy, and world-build when I do it–epic fantasy is one of my favourite genres. Erotic romances can give you a different kind of creative stretch because you’re allowing a different kind of fantasy to play out, and often times it’s quite a challenge.

5. What advice would you give a writer trying to write a believable sex scene?

Go with your heart, and in many ways with what feels right for the characters you’re working with. Each “couple” is unique, and there will always be something different in what you write for them. You have to remember that while body parts need to be active and engaged, the sexiest part of any encounter is the mind and emotions of the people involved, so try to keep the moment real on that level.

6. What piece of advice do you think is most important for all aspiring writers to hear?

I say the same thing every time I’m asked a question like this, because I believe it’s simply the truth: write the best book you can write, do not accept the opinions of your friends and families as whole truth–they don’t want to hurt you so their honesty is always tempered with love–give the work to an impartial editor, and then listen to what they say to you–they’re not going to give you false hope or deliberately destroy your dreams. It’s all subjective, so you have to be aware that constructive advice is to help you improve, not kill your dreams. And, always remember–there is no such thing as a perfect book. Once you are done, let it be done–take what you’ve learned and bring it to the next book to make it better. If you continue to rewrite one story until it’s “perfect” you will never get past it.

Perseverance will get you places in this business, and it’s more important than talent in some ways. So, if you believe you have a story that needs telling and people should see, then make it happen. Your personal determination can take you far!!

7. Do you believe that a writer must write every day to achieve anything?

No, not really–there are days when I don’t write a creative word, yet I’m at the computer on average 12 hours. Those are the days when I accomplish a lot of the things that are the business side of being an author. Things like working at interviews, doing promotional posts, blogs, interacting with readers via Facebook, or my newsgroup. It’s not the mystique people imagine when they think “author” but it is the reality, because this is still a job like any other.

8. What do you think of the future of the ebook industry?

I think the e-book industry is expanding by leaps and bounds and will only continue to grow and become more and more successful. In many ways I think people still see e-books as the “poor relation” or the “bastard child” of the legitimate publishing world, and the truth is, nothing could be further from the truth. There are some tremendous new voices emerging from the existence of e-Publishing, and more will come to the attention of readers with each passing day. Yes, there are some truly awful authors published, but that’s also true of the traditional print publishers, too. It’s all subjective at the end of the day, isn’t it?

9. What are you reading right now?

I am reading J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series, then I have all of Gena Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld books waiting. Once I’m done with those, I have Jeaniene Frost’s The Night Huntress novels lined up! That should take me through the next few months nicely, because in between I indulge my never-ending passion for Harlequin’s flagship Imprint line–the Presents novels are always in my stacks.

10. What are you working on that readers have to look forward to?

It’s never really one thing I’m working on, but often several things. At this time, I’ve got a wonderful shifter story in the works, my first werewolf tale, set in Venice as a Masquerade Ball. I’m working on a cougar story, again, a new genre for me. I’ve also been outlining and writing on my next major fantasy novel. Those are a few of the projects, there are many more, and they’re listed on my website. If I ever have time to do all these wonderful stories, I’ll be writing until I draw my last breath!!

Thanks so much for having me as your guest, Dianna!

BIO: Denysé Bridger

Canadian born and bred, and a lifelong dreamer, I began writing at an early age and can’t recall a time when I wasn’t creating in some artistic form. My life has had several on-going love affairs that shape much of what I write, the American West, Victorian England, cowboys, a passion for pirates, Greek Gods, and Ancient Egypt. The other endless love affair in my life is Italia and all its magic, beauty, and dazzling culture. That passion spills into all aspects of my life.

My first major fantasy novel is AS FATE DECREES. (Available in bookstores everywhere, and on Amazon’s international sites.) The novel relies heavily on Greek Mythology, and is set in Ancient Greece and modern Athens. If you enjoy a tale of Gods, Destiny, and the battles of an Eternal Champion, this is the book for you! (Less than six months after publication, it was a finalist for the 2008 Aurora Award.) Not surprisingly, there’s a touch of romance throughout, of course! A visit to my website will show the diversity of what is currently available, and the mixing of genres and styles that will be employed in many up-coming projects as well. To stay current with all these projects, or to just say hello, please feel free to email me anytime, there’s a contact link on the mail menu. I promise I will do my best to answer everyone, though it may take a day or two, so please be patient!

Denysé Bridger on the web
WEBSITE: http://www.denysebridger.com
BLOG: http://fantasy-pages.blogspot.com
Sensual Treats Magazine: http://www.sensualtreats.webs.com
Diary of a Mistress: http://www.facebook.com/Diary.of.a.Mistress

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/denysebridger
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/denysebridger
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/denyse.bridger
Facebook Fan Page: http://www.facebook.com/Romance.and.Fantasy
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B003LUHE96

Thanks for joining us Denysé, it’s been lovely having you.

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on April 6, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Good morning, Dianna!! Thanks so much for having me as your guest today! Any questions or comments, I’ll be by to answer you!! Thanks, everyone!!

  2. Denyse
    I loved your interview. Like you, each of my 6 WIP are in a different genre. I’m trying to see what I can and can’t write.

  3. As always, a great interview Denyse!

  4. Really enjoyed reading the interview Denyse , Great job as always !

  5. Great interview Denyse.
    Gina

  6. Hi Denyse,

    Great interview. I am with you on the erotic romance and sex scenes. They always make me giggle. Your advice is right on about the characters’ emotions. You are an inspiration for writers.

    Best wishes with your new releases!

Leave a Reply

