Prompt of the Week

Today’s prompt is:

Anger

My response:

The village that they took me to was peaceful and unlike anything I had ever seen. The temple of Unity was the largest building in the whole town, and Ahkmar’s temple was all but abandoned, a tiny shack. There were no gold or silver coins, but the people traded with cloth and beads and food. At the center of the market there was a fountain with a beautiful woman pouring water into a large marble basin. We passed through the town and onto one of the farms. Two men were working in a field full of pumpkins and squash.

The farm itself was a big blue house with a huge porch. Two arm chairs and a coffee table sat on the porch. Nobody was in either of them. The woman knocked on the door and immediately began tapping her foot with impatience while the man stood next to me in silence. After a couple of moments a woman who was perhaps a foot shorter than I was and half a century older appeared at the door. She looked at the couple and then looked at me and raised her eyebrows.

“Where did you find her?” the old woman asked.
“We found her by the pond. She said she has left the city in search of a new home.”
“You should have told her to go to the next one,” the woman said, her voice growing cold.
I cleared my throat and stepped forward. “But I do not want to go to the next city.”

There was a long silence as the woman looked me up and down, evaluating me by some standards I did not know. She clicked her tongue a couple of times and I winced-perhaps they would send me away after all. Then she smiled.

“Then come in, my child, and tell me your story.”

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on March 21, 2011, in Prompts, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

