Book Review: Harvest Moon By Krista D. Ball


I meant to review this one a while ago but I didn’t get the chance to read it until just a couple of days ago. Before I start I’d like to say thank you to Krista D. Ball for sending me a copy of this novella to review. I quite enjoyed it and it’s been an honour to work with MuseItUp authors. You can buy this book here.

Here goes:

Book Trailer

As a Reader

As a reader I really enjoyed this novella. It’s short but I don’t feel like I’m missing anything. Dancing Cat, the main character, is well developed and beautifully written. When Dancing Cat confronts the sacred bundle of her tribe and asks the ancestors if they are still watching over her, she is turned into a man by her fallen grandmother. She is wounded and then she is rescued by a man named Bearclaw. He is also well developed and the two form a beautiful friendship which eventually turns to love.

As a reader I was deeply touched by this story. I was also fascinated by the bits of native culture that were shown in this novella.

As a writer

As a writer I was impressed with this work. I didn’t find myself stopping to correct things very often and I enjoyed the story. I thought the characters were well written and that the story was beautiful. I’m glad to have had the chance to read it. It felt believable. I find that very few books accurately portray native culture and that is one of the things I appreciated most about this book.

The Verdict

I officially recommend this novella to anyone looking for a short, poignant read. MuseItUp has continued to impress me with its authors.

You can buy the book here.

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on February 9, 2011, in Book Reviews, Reading Related and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

