Book Review: The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

The Screwtape Letters is a book written by C.S. Lewis during world war two. It is a series of letters written from one more experienced ‘devil’ to his nephew, trying to help him corrupt a human.

This book is quite interesting. Some time ago I tried to read it but couldn’t get into it. I don’t remember why, quite possibly because I got distracted. I started reading it again a couple of weeks ago and found it quite interesting. I finished it last night before falling asleep.

The main character, the letter writer known as Screwtape, is a manipulative demon. He knows quite well the art of playing with the minds of men, and he tries to explain this to Wormwood, to help him bring a soul into the world of Hell. It is quite an interesting perspective, the letters are quite well written and they tell one hell of a story.

All in all this is a great book. It’s very Christian, but I managed not to choke on it because it is written from the point of view of a devil; therefore, while it is really all about resisting sin-and CS Lewis was a very Christian man-I can still stand it. The Chronicles Of Narnia, the other books I know by CS Lewis, are also very Christian but are disguised as fiction and, having never read the bible and knowing very little of Christian myth (I like to keep it that way), I can bear those as well.

The Screwtape Letters is an excellent book, written in a quite interesting style and looking at the moral issues of humanity without shoving moral lessons down one’s throat.

You can buy it here: The Screwtape Letters On Amazon

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on January 5, 2011, in Book Reviews, Reading Related. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

