Book Review: Self Editing for Fiction Writers

I’ve seen this book recommended in at least a dozen different places, so I had the library order a copy for me. It arrived at the end of last week and of course, I’ve already finished reading it.

Self Editing for Fiction Writers is a book designed to help you read your work like an editor. Written by two editors, Renni Browne and Dave King, the book introduces you to several of their own editing techniques.

The book starts with the chapter ‘Show and Tell’, and takes us through characterization, exposition, point of view, dialogue, interior monologue, and finishes with a brief chapter discussing the writer’s voice.

As I’ve already mentioned, the book is recommended all over the web. I can definitely see why. It’s well written and full of visual examples with passages before and after editing. The checklists at the end of each chapter are immensely useful to consider when editing your own work-and even to keep in the back of your mind when writing the next book. I haven’t done the exercises because I’m busy editing my own book-but they’re well designed and well thought out.

I highly recommend this book to anyone seriously interested in publication.

You can buy it by following the link below:

Self Editing for Fiction Writers on Amazon

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on January 5, 2011, in Book Reviews, Reading Related. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

