Book Review: Newes From The Dead

I won this book from YA Book Central last year, and only just finished reading it. (It disappeared for some time. Finally found it again and read it in about a week-only reading on the subway.)

This is a really good book. It’s classified as YA but I can’t really tell the difference.

Newes from the Dead is loosely based off of a true story. The story of a woman named Anne Green, a maid in the 17th century. She was seduced by her master’s grandson (he’s 17) by his lies that he would have her raised and made lady of the house. She was impregnated, had a stillbirth, and was charged for infanticide and hung. Her body was given to doctors at the time to dissect in order to study humanity.

But Anne came back to life. This book is Anne’s story, told from her perspective, of how she came into this situation of being hung, and then when she wakes up near the end of how she is treated. It alternates between her point of view and that of a man named Robert, who is one of the medical students.

Newes From The Dead is the name of pamphlets that were written at the time, accounts of Anne’s story; and now it is the name of a great book.

The book is very historically accurate, geographically accurate, and just a good book overall. The characterization is strong, the plot is great and moves along at just the right pace, and the style of writing is very fitting for the time. The book is well worth the money-although I didn’t pay any-and comes in a very nice hardcover edition.

Anne’s voice is very strong and her story truly heartbreaking. Her survival is a miracle of the time. Mary Hooper, the woman who wrote Newes From The Dead, is, from what I’ve learned in brief spurts of research, a well-established YA author in England. I’m sure her other books are good too, although I’ve never read them.

This book spans across audiences and generations; it can be enjoyed by anyone. In fact, I intend to recommend it to my grandmother later on today.

You can buy it here:

Amazon.com Newes From The Dead

And find information on its author here:

Mary Hooper Online

I’ve decided to read at least 5 books this summer. So far I’ve read two and am working on a third. I have one book that I read a chapter of each night before bed, and Newes From The Dead was my ‘travel’ book, as it takes me an hour of transit to get downtown. I’m going to be picking out a new travel book. I will be reviewing them all here, except for the Series of Unfortunate Events book that I read-though I will do a cumulative post on the series eventually.

The next book I review will probably be C.S. Lewis’ Screwtape Letters, which I am in the process of reading-and finding quite interesting.

Have a good day everyone. Thanks for reading. If you’ve read Newes From the Dead, or you buy it based on this review, let me know and let me know how you like it.

About Dianna Gunn

I am a freelance writer by day and a fantasy author by night. My first YA fantasy novella, Keeper of the Dawn, is available now through The Book Smugglers Publishing.

Posted on January 5, 2011, in Book Reviews, Reading Related and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

